Sony Digital Camera Forums

Sony Digital Camera Galleries => Videos to Share => Topic started by: Skd on February 28, 2013, 07:55:20 PM

Title: First time lapse
Post by: Skd on February 28, 2013, 07:55:20 PM
This is my first time lapse.

It was nothing special just out of my back window, also I know it's OOF on the post.

This was done by pressing shutter on the remote every 30secs.

http://youtu.be/8TxgLYlBsqk

All opinions are very welcomed.

Thanks
Title: Re: First time lapse
Post by: chappo1 on February 28, 2013, 09:51:10 PM
Welcome Skd, I hope you will stick around and show us more of your work.
I tried to view the link but the connection timed out on me.  I will try again later....john
Title: Re: First time lapse
Post by: Skd on March 01, 2013, 12:06:59 PM
I will be sticking around.

I will also be happy to share my work once I'm on my laptop.

George
Title: Re: First time lapse
Post by: chappo1 on March 01, 2013, 09:51:37 PM
Managed to view it this time George.  It is interesting watching the lights come on and the sky slowly darken...john
Title: Re: First time lapse
Post by: Skd on March 02, 2013, 03:42:17 PM
Thank you very much for taking the time to try again.

Glad you liked it :)
Title: Re: First time lapse
Post by: Stef. on March 02, 2013, 09:50:34 PM
I had a look at it and I have to say , I got to try this at some point. I guess the result compeltely varies with how often you press the shutter release. How did you post-process them? I assume you put them onto a time line but for how many seconds did you set each image?
Stef.
Title: Re: First time lapse
Post by: Maxx-7D on March 02, 2013, 10:38:47 PM
This something I also would like to try sometime. Would be interested as well on how it is done in post processing.
Title: Re: First time lapse
Post by: Skd on March 03, 2013, 01:36:03 PM
I had a look at it and I have to say , I got to try this at some point. I guess the result compeltely varies with how often you press the shutter release. How did you post-process them? I assume you put them onto a time line but for how many seconds did you set each image?
Stef.

The amount of times you press the shutter depens on the subject, ie people are something like every 3seconds, clouds 10seconds or something like that.  Its just all down to trial and error, but there is some guides on the interent.

Now I normally shoot in RAW but I didnt want to sit through 400 images (or what ever it was) so I shot in Jpeg as this was a test. I think it worked very well but I have now learned that Lightroom you can batch process so I will be looking at buying that.

As for the speed of the images I set the speed at 24fps, from what I have read 24fps is the minium as anything less tends to look a bit jumpy.

This something I also would like to try sometime. Would be interested as well on how it is done in post processing.
Its well worth a go, even out of your back window like what I did.

Anyways I did a new one last night I had a few little huccups, like battery and memory card changes and halfway through I noticed one of my tripods legs standing on a stone so its slighty wonky.

This was done at 10sec intervals by hand using an IR Remote (still need to source a intervalometer).

http://youtu.be/SqmPqeqrHmI