Author Topic: Online printing.  (Read 2036 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Pebbles9x

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Gender: Female
Online printing.
« on: February 04, 2010, 06:38:08 PM »
Hi,

I'm after printing some photo's larger than A4 and can't afford a larger format printer :( and just wondered if anyone uses on-line printing services here in the UK.
I have my screen calibrated using Spider3Pro and obviously would want my prints to match my screen.

Thanks Clare

Offline rogprov

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
  • Gender: Male
  • Roger
Re: Online printing.
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 07:22:49 PM »
I use DSCL http://www.dscolourlabs.co.uk/. Their prices are reasonable (£1.10 for a 18"x12") and it is all done over the net - they supply software for you to upload your images. I know of several professionals who also use their service. I've been happy with the results.
Roger

Offline blanko

  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 1693
Re: Online printing.
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 07:35:51 PM »
Thanks rogprov I will give them a try.To get larger than A4 I've been downloading to disc then going to my local art shop and they use huge machines and print the images off to whatever size required right up to poster but the colours always differ albeit slightly to exactly what I want.Thanks again.

Offline Bigbreakfast

  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 1188
  • Gender: Male
    • Paul O'Toole
    • Pj_otoole
    • @_Bigbreakfast
    • Flickr
Re: Online printing.
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2010, 09:38:44 PM »
I haven't used DSCL but I reckon I'll give them a try too. They have profiles to download, so to get the best result download and assign the profile to you files in photoshop.

Btw I have been using Aldiphoto for a couple of years and been pleased with their results.
Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. Albert Einstein
A700, sigma 70-200 2.8, sigma 105 macro, 70 -400 G, M42 lineup Helios F2 58mm, Carl Zeiss 50m F1.8, Pentax Super Takumar 135mm F3.5 - 'Be cruel, harsh, picky or just fussy - but when you critique my work please feel free to be honest!'

Offline Rob aka [minolta mad]

  • Administrator
  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • ******
  • Posts: 10061
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1260183143#!/profile.php?id=1494244129
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/robkendall/
    • http://www.redbubble.com/people/minoltamad
    • Westcountry Photographic
Re: Online printing.
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2010, 09:57:31 PM »
I have used them before and have founnd the prints do tend to come back a little on the dark side, even after using and assigning their profiles.
If you are going to use them, id suggest getting some 7x5's done before ordeing any large prints, at least that way you can see what need adjusting before getting too many or large ones done.
I used to have an action for adjustments that i would use, the prints then came back 95% of what i saw on screen.


Rob

Offline Pebbles9x

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Gender: Female
Re: Online printing.
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2010, 05:57:24 PM »
Thanks, I sent an order to DSCL on Friday and I upped the exposure by half a stop and the photo's came back on Saturday, very impressed.
I sent 8 files and 7 were fine but one that was predominately orange was way off I don't quite know what happened there!

Anyway I have been looking on the web and I have found Proam Imaging that look good, good price and you download their profile. I also like the sound of them because they sell Spyder calibrating systems which is  what I use and it would be much easier if I did not have to up the exposure when sending a file (as I'm likely to forget :( ) to get a match with my monitor.

You also have to size the files to the photo size and 402 ppi. My problem is something I haven't noticed before. When I crop and image to say 4 x 6 at res 402ppi and then do the same with other photo's the file size is not the same even though the size and res. is the same. Am I doing something wrong or is this correct? I find it so confusing.

Thanks Clare