Author Topic: Review Sony Alpha 850  (Read 3389 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


Offline jdlaing

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: Review Sony Alpha 850
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2010, 03:23:34 AM »
Interesting part of both reviews were the "Why you would not buy".

No flash, no live view, no movie capture.

Offline rogprov

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
  • Gender: Male
  • Roger
Re: Review Sony Alpha 850
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2010, 06:02:38 AM »
Interesting part of both reviews were the "Why you would not buy".

No flash, no live view, no movie capture.

Disliking having to pay for stuff I'll not use is precisely why the lack of these attracted me to the a900 :)
« Last Edit: January 25, 2010, 06:07:53 AM by rogprov »
Roger

Offline pointblank

  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 1171
    • loveanda35
    • Love and a 35
Re: Review Sony Alpha 850
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2010, 06:47:14 AM »
Interesting part of both reviews were the "Why you would not buy".

No flash, no live view, no movie capture.

Music is in the ear of the beholder. This is pretty much all reasons why I would buy. Strange huh, how a one man's opinion is trying to set the tone for so many out there. Don't believe the hype.

Offline rogprov

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
  • Gender: Male
  • Roger
Re: Review Sony Alpha 850
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2010, 07:51:25 AM »
Interesting part of both reviews were the "Why you would not buy".

No flash, no live view, no movie capture.

Music is in the ear of the beholder. This is pretty much all reasons why I would buy. Strange huh, how a one man's opinion is trying to set the tone for so many out there. Don't believe the hype.


Quite!  Some while ago I ran a straw-poll on another forum and very few folk actually wanted movie or live-view although some were not adverse to it being on the camera - providing it didn't detract from normal photo capabilities.
Roger

Offline Rand47

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: Review Sony Alpha 850
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2010, 05:56:12 PM »
Interesting part of both reviews were the "Why you would not buy".

No flash, no live view, no movie capture.

Disliking having to pay for stuff I'll not use is precisely why the lack of these attracted me to the a900 :)

You can add me to the list of those not wanting video.  Live view is of limited value w/o an articulated LCD (IMO, having owned an Olympus E-3), and the Intelligent Preview gives me what I want re image adjustment for landscape work.  An articulated LCD would be nice, IF, it were really robust in consruction and didn't sacrifice size and resolution in order to "be there."

Sony... PLEASE keep your top of the line DSLR a "photographer's camera."  If you need to compete w/ the likes of the 5D II, make that another model.


Offline Bill

  • Article Contributor
  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Gender: Male
Re: Review Sony Alpha 850
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2010, 06:54:06 PM »
I wanted a camera.  If I wanted a video recorder, I would have bought one.  The way I see it (read: MY OPINION!) is that it is better to be very good to superb at one thing than to have every feature and be average at them all.

I see a fair amount of TV news crews out and about.  They never news pieces with an HD video capable dSLR.  I wonder why?

Bill
a77 + vertical control grip, a700 + vertical control grip,  24-70/2.8 SSM ZA,  70-200/2.8 SSM G,  HVL-F42AM flash

Offline Stef.

  • Past Moderator
  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 11520
    • Stef's photographs
Re: Review Sony Alpha 850
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2010, 08:31:31 PM »
Me neither! I would love to get a "slimmed" down camera that gives outstanding results! I certainly don't need any programm modes- I would not even need Jpegs. Anyhow it seems the market dictates "the more the merrier"...I completely disagree. But than that's me.
Stef.
Stef.'s photographs

[url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/15931938@N05/]flickr


"Dream as if you'll live forever- live as if you'll die today"

Offline Bill

  • Article Contributor
  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Gender: Male
Re: Review Sony Alpha 850
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2010, 08:46:42 PM »
Stef,

That makes me laugh also.  I do not use jpeg at all or any of the programs.  I use aperture priority nearly 100% of the time, so A, P and M are the only useful settings for me along with programmable modes to push exposure when shooting at high ISO.

Bill
a77 + vertical control grip, a700 + vertical control grip,  24-70/2.8 SSM ZA,  70-200/2.8 SSM G,  HVL-F42AM flash

Offline Theresa

  • Regular Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Gender: Female
Re: Review Sony Alpha 850
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2010, 02:24:54 PM »
I am relatively new to DSLRs, but have extensive experience with other cameras.  Part of the attraction I have to the a850 is that it is a photographer's camera.  I prefer the ruggedness and simplicity of the a850 to the swiss army knife approach of the 5Dmk2.  I find "preview" very useful along with body stabilization as I have a tremor.  What I would like to see is a light ff camera that was the form factor of the old 35mm SLRs, maybe half the size of today's ff dSLRs.  I just don't want to carry 2 kilos around with me all the time.
Sony a850, Sony Zeiss 24-70 f/2.8, Sony Zeiss 135mm f/1.8, KM a2, KM a200, Minolta x700