Author Topic: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?  (Read 7256 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline a350novice

  • Enthusiast
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't have a clue.
Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« on: August 07, 2008, 10:53:26 PM »
Hope this has not been asked a million times already but ...
I have a chance to get Photoshop CS3 and would like to know if Photoshop Elements would be a better choice. I have never used either one of them. Can you do things in Photoshop Elements like Cropping, layers, Frames etc?

Thank's

Offline Clive

  • Past Moderator
  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 11976
  • Gender: Male
    • My galleries
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2008, 03:42:30 AM »
a350novice ...

I take 20,000 digital pictures a year and get the odd decent shot. (Well I hope so anyway!;) ) Got my first DSLR (7D) three years ago and moved to the A700 last year. Okay okay! What's my point? I use Elements and it probably drives people crazy. :D I also have Lightroom which I use now and then for special tweaking of XF jpegs or RAW images ... I don't shoot much RAW.

Elements does lot of things ... certainly everything you'll want to do as a beginner. It does not do some of the fancy "layers" things that many get into. It does have layers ... crop .. light levels adjustments for just light and dark areas plus the standard levels sliders...cloning...erasing...magic wand...healing tool (can be very handy!)... text..frames (but not as good as Elements 3)...lots of cool stuff. You can view some of my pictures... ..click here (below) for my recent posts...the pix that are mine are all prepared in Elements...
http://www.dynaxdigital.com/index.php?action=profile;u=109;sa=showPosts

Since you are just starting, I would highly recommend Elements as a starting point. Learn with it and progress to CS3 (or 4 ?) if you feel Elements in inadequate.

I make every effort to take half decent images (with the camera) and minimize the processing. Elements has been good for what I need and do.

Cheers!

Clive
« Last Edit: August 08, 2008, 03:52:22 AM by Clive »
Galleries
============================================
Not everything that counts can be counted, and not everything that can be counted, counts. Albert Einstein

Offline Fud

  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 3399
  • Gender: Male
    • ElmerFud on Flickr
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2008, 08:27:20 AM »
I think it might depend on if you are shooting in RAW.  If you don't do a lot of detailed processing have a look at Lightroom as a few members use that here.
A900+VG, A77+VG, Minolta 17-35G,  Sony CZ24-70 F2.8,Sony 70-200 F2.8 SSM, Sony 70-400 SSM, Sony 135STF,85 F1.4, 200 F4 Macro, 600 F4 HS APO

Offline Clive

  • Past Moderator
  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 11976
  • Gender: Male
    • My galleries
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2008, 10:56:11 AM »
Lightroom has a couple of nice features for sure. I need to learn it better than I do.

Although Elements does not have a wide selection of frames (there must be some plug-ins available to add to the library) it is great for general photo work including text and borders. General manipulations are simple. I don't do a lot of manips, but typically open a file; decide on light levels especially in the different ranges (I may lighten the darks a tad) and do an overall level adjustment (or not); I don't change colors too much, but may jazz up skies now and then (or some other group of color such as greens)... when it is the way I want it, I hit <ctrl> <alt> <s> for "save as" and name it and ALWAYS keep the reference number as part of the name. So now I have the original file, and the adjusted and named file. Depending on use I will now resize and when resized I usually rename it and often add the pixel dimensions to the name. So The image may be: "monarch butterfly 2327 800" 

The crop tool is great...set for the size needed (say 8 by 10 inches at 300 dpi) ... crop to desired size and may even rename again with the dimensions this time... The crop tool is great for resizing a lot of pictures (say for my wife's photo albums of the grandkids..she needs 4 by 6-inch prints) ... so I select  (say) 37 adjusted pictures and open them...I like to resize/crop manually based on how I want the picture to be cropped...but you can also resize dozens of images with the "adjust multiple files" feature.

At some point I may (or not) add the © sign and even a title.

For the majority of image work Elements is fine. If you are big into RAW then CS3 will suit you better. The Lightroom levels feature is very good.

One day I'll come out of my cave and start using CS. ;)
Galleries
============================================
Not everything that counts can be counted, and not everything that can be counted, counts. Albert Einstein

Offline Fud

  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 3399
  • Gender: Male
    • ElmerFud on Flickr
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2008, 11:41:57 AM »
Clive what on earth are you doing up posting on here at 4 o'clock in the morning your time? :)
A900+VG, A77+VG, Minolta 17-35G,  Sony CZ24-70 F2.8,Sony 70-200 F2.8 SSM, Sony 70-400 SSM, Sony 135STF,85 F1.4, 200 F4 Macro, 600 F4 HS APO

Offline steve

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 914
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2008, 12:28:56 PM »
Hi
If u are just starting get elements 5 it has everthing u will need and its pretty cheap now.I have lots of differant photoshop stuff but use elements for most of my work.CS3 is great but its a steep learning curve so go with elements to start with.

   Regards Steve

Offline Clive

  • Past Moderator
  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 11976
  • Gender: Male
    • My galleries
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2008, 04:13:18 PM »
Fud ... "Clive what on earth are you doing up posting on here at 4 o'clock in the morning your time? "

HA HA HA GRR GRR GRR :D :P :D :P

Old geezer moment .. woke up at 3 AM and was awake. I normally sleep very well for about 7 hours. This "awake" thing happens now and then. Usually the solution is to wait a few minutes and sometimes I fall asleep again. When it is apparent that I am awake I get up and do something for 30 to 60 minutes and then go back...sometimes I then read or do crosswords. I went back to sleep at about 4:30 and slept till 8:30 AM. Was good eventually and I ended up sleeping close to 8 hours total. ;)

Galleries
============================================
Not everything that counts can be counted, and not everything that can be counted, counts. Albert Einstein

Offline Rob aka [minolta mad]

  • Administrator
  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • ******
  • Posts: 10061
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1260183143#!/profile.php?id=1494244129
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/robkendall/
    • http://www.redbubble.com/people/minoltamad
    • Westcountry Photographic
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2008, 05:35:49 PM »
One day I'll come out of my cave and start using CS. ;)

Given the quality of images that you post Clive, i'm not sure that you'd need CS3.
You do pretty damn well with elements !

I'd say go with elements and then as mentioned move to CS if needed !



Rob [minolta mad]

Offline a350novice

  • Enthusiast
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't have a clue.
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2008, 05:35:47 AM »
Thanks to all who replied. I think it will be the Elements.
Much cheaper.

Offline Dr.Theo

  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 1196
  • Your Vietnam Connection
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2008, 01:16:47 PM »
i have started with cs3 but in retro spect elements may have been better, as clive says it is a steep learning curve, but the best processing is as little as possible so try to get it right in camera first. my processing is mostly limited to dodge and burn, croping, straightning, and i am really working hard at gettin good bw and split tones, but to little success. and now i am trying to jump into raw processing. wow so long to go on this one, but there are no classes anywhere near where i live, so i am trying to go the book route, but that is with out a doubt the most inefective ineficient way for me to learn. i am very much a tell me and i will forget, show me and i will learn kind of guy.

sorry if that was rambling and OT but i am at odds ends reading all the stuff on the web about cs3  lay---er maaaassssk hmm whats that
The first step is admitting you have a problem.
A700/7d/A100 sony 50/1.4|70-200 ssm|70-300G|CZ 16-80|Min 17-35G|
28-70G|28/2|35/2|85/1.4GD|100/2|100/2.8D|135/2.8|200/2.8HSG|300/2.8G|Sigma 10-20

Offline Frank [aka Wires]

  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/wirehawker/
    • uk.linkedin.com/pub/frank-etchells/53/319/784
    • Frank Etchells Falconry and More
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2008, 01:57:56 PM »
Dr Theo... I bought "Photoshop CS3... essential skills" by Mark Galer and Philip Andrews [isbn # 978-0-240-52064-3] www.photoshopessentialskills.com Comes with a DVD etc.

Regarding RAW. As I posted elsewhere in the forum on RAW queries, I've downloaded a trial of Phase Ones [ www.phaseone.com ] Capture One 4 software. They also do other versions of Capture One such as Pro etc., which you'll see in some of the different drop down menus.

The website gives some guide throughs to see HOW it works and how to use it. They also have a wmv video to download on using CaptureOne - 132 Mb size. Give the site a look and see what you think. CaptureOne 4.1 is $129 or 99 euros... 30 days free try... but they do make it look SO easy to use :)
Frank (aka Wires)
:)
The Dalai Lama said; “Know the rules well, so you can break them effectively”

Offline Tom F

  • Friend of DynaxDigital
  • *****
  • Posts: 4638
  • Gender: Male
  • No Rain, No Rainbows
    • @TomJFrederick
    • My Sony Alpha Photos
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #11 on: September 19, 2008, 02:50:20 PM »
Anyone that's thinking about getting CS3 you might want to hold off as CS4 will be out soon.
a99 a77 a900

Offline hopeless

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 769
  • Gender: Male
  • Jamie Lawrence
    • Hot off the Memory Card
Re: Photoshop CS3 or Photoshop Elements ?
« Reply #12 on: September 19, 2008, 06:53:37 PM »
Regarding RAW. As I posted elsewhere in the forum on RAW queries, I've downloaded a trial of Phase Ones [ www.phaseone.com ] Capture One 4 software. They also do other versions of Capture One such as Pro etc., which you'll see in some of the different drop down menus.

I was watching David Noton's DVD and he uses Capture One.  The main thing I noticed was that it had a proper levels control unlike Lightroom.

@a350novice: I reckon Elements would be the perfect place to start.  Why spend hundreds when Elements will (probably) be all you'll need?

Anyone that's thinking about getting CS3 you might want to hold off as CS4 will be out soon.

Yeah, I heard within the month.
http://hopeless.smugmug.com (gallery)
Hot off the memory card (photoblog)
Shutter Scouts (photographer's notebook and forecasting service)